Search This Blog

Sunday, 25 January 2015

Scottish Parliament motions Anti-Semitism Motion

S4M-12100 John Mason: Anti-Semitism—That the Parliament expresses its concern regarding the recent rise in anti-Semitism across Europe and considers that this antipathy toward Europe’s Jewish community has sadly been a recurrent theme for hundreds of years; notes Scotland’s traditionally positive relationship with its Jewish population; strongly asserts Scotland’s warm desire that Jewish people living in Scotland should feel safe, completely at home and a key part of the multicultural Scottish community, and believes that Jews, Muslims, Christians, people of other religions and people of no religion should all be treated equally and should all be able to live here free from the threat of violence or other discrimination.

Supported by: Kenneth Gibson, Malcolm Chisholm, Patricia Ferguson, Joan McAlpine, Bill Kidd, Anne McTaggart, Kenny MacAskill, Ken Macintosh, Murdo Fraser, Mike MacKenzie, Richard Lyle, Rob Gibson, Neil Findlay, Alison McInnes, Hugh Henry, Stewart Maxwell, Adam Ingram, Elaine Smith, Drew Smith, Jim Hume, Jackie Baillie, John Wilson, Roderick Campbell, Jean Urquhart, Angus MacDonald, Gil Paterson, John Finnie, David Torrance, Clare Adamson, Alex Fergusson, Dave Thompson*, James Dornan*

S4M-11995# Stewart Maxwell: Holocaust Memorial Day 2015(lodged on 07 January 2015)That the Parliament notes that 27 January 2015 marks Holocaust Memorial Day, the 70th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau and an opportunity for schools, colleges, faith groups and communities across Scotland to remember the six million men, women and children murdered by the Nazi regime in occupied Europe; acknowledges that this year marks perhaps the last significant anniversary that will be marked with the Holocaust in living memory; further notes that the theme of Holocaust Memorial Day 2015 is Keep the Memory Alive; values the Holocaust Educational Trust’s Lessons from Auschwitz Project, which gives two post-16 students from every school and college in Scotland the opportunity to visit Auschwitz-Birkenau; applauds Lucy Paterson and Kieran Smyth, two students from St Andrew’s RC Secondary in Glasgow, who took part in the project and will deliver the Parliament’s Time for Reflection message on 27 January; celebrates the Holocaust survivors who have enriched Scotland as a nation, and recommits to ensuring that racism, sectarianism and bigotry are never allowed to go unchallenged in Scotland.

Supported by: Gordon MacDonald, Roderick Campbell, Kenny MacAskill, Alex Fergusson, Michael McMahon, John Lamont, Neil Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Jackie Baillie, Elaine Murray, Cameron Buchanan, Clare Adamson, Michael Russell*, Richard Simpson*

No comments:

Post a Comment